Newbie here. Trying to get started

Hey yall,

I got my Shapeoko Pro XXL put together this week and was excited to fire it off this weekend. I have a slight problem…When I hit start job in Motion the router will head over to the bit setter, then back to the front middle. Once it gets to the front middle the gantry flies back to the right corner slamming into the back end plate. I am sure it has to do with a coordinate or a wrong setting. Does anyone have an idea what I am doing wrong?? Any feedback would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Adam

Does the machine initialize properly?

Did you send the correct configurations to the machine try that first/again and see what that does.

Anthony

1 Like

Did you set the zero for your job?
I recommend going to the jog tab, then jog the machine to the location on the stock that you expect, then set zero.

It does initialize properly. The more I research it seems like I didnt zero in properly. Thank you for replying!

The more videos I watch, it seems like I am not zeroing right. Is it best to have the toolpath zero set to center? Like I said, I am just now getting my feet wet with this machine.

I like the front left corner, but that’s just usually what I default to.

1 Like

Where you set the zero depends on the specific needs of the job and the stock.

The recommendation is to use Lower-Left and Top of stock when first starting out.

See:

and

https://my.carbide3d.com/gswcc/02/

If you still have difficulties, post the .c2d file, step-by-step notes on how you are securing your stock and setting zero relative to it, and how you are managing your tool changes and a photo showing an attempt at cutting still in place on the machine and we will do our best to assist.