Nomad or Shapeoko Pro XXL

Asking for some advice and assistance…

Finally taking the plunge and buying a CNC. I have several uses for a CNC, but my primary use would be deep engraving (0.003-0.005”) of stainless, aluminum and carbon fiber.

That said, I “could” also use a CNC to cut foam, wood, plastic, etc on a larger scale which would be helpful to my small business, but isn’t necessarily required.

I’m a complete noob to CNC, so the Nomad seems more appealing and would achieve my primary needs…but is the accuracy of the Nomad that much better than the Shapeoko Pro XXL that it would prevent me from doing some fine engraving AND allow me to do other tasks that are in my nice to have category? BTW…by fine engraving think 12 font, 0.003-0.005 deep, so a diamond drag won’t work.

Time to cut is sort of irrelevant to me, if the engraving takes an hour to do 30 letters or a small, it would be totally fine. Just trying to make a decision that I’ll be happy with in the end.

Thanks all!

A lot of jewelers use the Nomad. That said the pro models have very good precision. The versatility of a larger machine is hard to beat. The Nomad is a great machine but is very limited in size projects. Take a look on the forum there are many that use Shapeoko 3, 4, Pro and HDM to do engraving as well as the Nomad. If the only job is engraving small items then the Nomad because of space constraints. If you have the room for a larger machine you can just do more. The Nomad is about $2800.00 and the Shapeoko Pro goes from $2400-$2800.

Now those prices are the machine alone and you have to buy bits and maybe other accessories. Plus the Carbide Create software is free but they have a pro version that is more. Then there is Vetric that starts around $350.00 to $4000.00. There is Carveco, Fusion 360 and many many more but they all cost. Truthfully the free Carbide Create can do a lot of things but it depends what you are trying to accomplish.

Bottom line is the machines are just the start.