Nomad, please let me love you

Well, some time ago, I got my Nomad, and last year a Shapeoko XL + a Z axis and whatnot… but in all this time I have yet to get any of it up and running. Every time I’ve had a day to sit down with either, I swear I’ve ended up further behind than where I started hah. But now, I’ve returned to Design school, and finally have some projects for Finals that would really benefit from these sweet machines working. So I’m thinking, hey, excellent, that will force me to get to the bottom of at least one of them. I’ll start with the easiest, the Nomad, since it’s a turnkey machine to begin with. What could go wr…

1. Alright, crank up the ol Mach3 leftover from when I had a big CNC router, and Mastercam to do the surfaces, and… nope, they don’t work. And they’re not going to. Ok, shoot, well what does?
  2. Inventor. Awesome, I’ve been designing in Inventor Pro for 15 years… nope, just Inventor Fusion… well, ok… oh it’s nothing like Inventor Pro whatsoever, but a web app, and now autodesk wants to bill us on a per calculation basis for our work? I am hesitant to invest in drawing a new library of parts that they’re going to nickle and dime me on every revision forever. Kind of defeats the purpose of being a home/hobbyist machinist.
  3. There’s always Carbide3D’s own programs. To get some simple parts going this weekend, I’ll just use Carbide Motion. Carbide motion works with meshcam. Didn’t Nomad come with a meshcam license? Oh yeah, it was on that hulking old workstation I recycled ages ago, before I switched to Macs. Ok, meshcam offers a 15day trial…
  4. DL’d the new apps, Installed: Motion4 no luck, Motion3 success, sort of, but not sure about homing, Meshcam gets to licensing window and hangs on no response.
  5. Ah ha! Because what I’ve got is actually an original 883.1, so I probably need to flash the new Grbl1.1. Ok, no sweat…
  6. gotta rip the thing apart and snip a jumper off… okidoki… once more into the breech