Nomad seems unusually loud, y axis makes odd noise when x/y moving together

Hi everyone!

This is my first post since I was recently able to acquire a Nomad 883 Pro from a friend. It came without sides so I’m still waiting on those but I figured I’d use that time to get familiar with the machine and to some noise level tests.

I have sent an email to Carbide’s support already but then figured that people on the forums might have good tips as well and it can’t hurt to have a wider audience :slight_smile: I am completely new to CNC, but have experience with cartesian 3d printers, so please bear with me, in case my findings don’t make sense or are completely normal.

TLDR: the machine sounds quite a bit louder than what I’ve gathered from other videos online, especially during initialization. Additionally the y-axis seems to make a weird stuttering noise when both x and y are used at the same time, e.g. when going from NW to SE, but sounds fine on its own.

I have conducted some decibel measurements, albeit on an amateurish level using my phone, results below (I have cleaned rails and lead screws properly and oiled them using Super Lube before conducting any tests):

Idle, decibel peak: -76db
This seems totally normal to me.

Machine Initialization through Carbide Motion, decibel peak: -38db

http://lum.pe/carbide_nomad_tests/machine_initialization_1.mov
http://lum.pe/carbide_nomad_tests/machine_initialization_2.mov

I was very surprised at the massive noise increase during initialization and this does not sound exactly “normal” to me.

X-axis movement: peak -64db

X/Y-axis movement NE to SW: decibel peak -53db
This seems already kind of loud and is also where an odd stuttering sound can be heard on the Y-axis. I have added a video for this to the first reply.

Z-axis movement: peak -63db

Are these noise levels expected? Any and all help is greatly appreciated because I really would like to hit the ground running once the rest of the sides arrive :slight_smile: