Noob here, Genereal questions

Hello All,

I have recently purchased a used Shapeoko XXL for $1300. It came with a 90° V-bit, bitzero, and a dust boot. The guy who I bought it from had it up and running when purchased. I have not had the opportunity to get it fired up but plan on doing so next week (currently out of town). At the moment I only have a couple of questions.

1. Since I only have the 90° V-bit, should I order the “End Mill Starter Pack” for $175 (Currently Sold Out)? Or are there just a few bits that I could use to accomplish most needs?

2)Software. I have downloaded Carbide Create and Carbide Motion and done some of the online tutorials for CC. Should I stick with this or is it better to learn V-Carve Pro or Fusion 360 from the start?

Also, If you have suggestions for starter projects or tips for staring out I would love to hear them.

Thanks Everybody!!

1. Which endmills you need is determined by what sort of work you wish to do, in what materials and how you wish to approach it.

2. Similarly, software selection/usage is determined by what you wish to do and how you wish to approach it. Folks doing signage using Windows computers who are willing to pay for software are inclined towards Vectric software, while folks doing 3D mechanical CAD and willing to tolerate cloud software and Autodesk gravitate towards Fusion 360.

For starter projects, please consider one or more of the tutorials:

or a something from our project sharing site:

End mill starter kits may sound like a good idea, but you can do quite a lot with the #201 and a #102 end mills, depending on what you want to do. I did buy two different starter sets, but have only used two of the end mills from it - and broke one of them!.