Object to object snap in Carbide Create, is it possible?

Alright so I am fairly new to this. 3 months ago I didn’t know anything about desktop CNC routers. I didn’t even know they exist in such a form. I will explain how i came into my Shapeoko in 3 months ago in another post.

OK to the point, I use Autodesk products frequently but Fusion 360 is so cumbersome in terms of the detail and I am not ready for that yet. In Carbide create I often want to replace symmetrical geometry like a circle, but there seems to be no way to snap to the center of the circle? Am I missing something or is that not possible? How else can we perform a center or quadrant snap object snap? I appreciate your help!

Hi Anthony,

You can align objects to other objects in CC by selecting both objects (in the right order) and then using the align tool to snap the most recent selection to the prior selection.

My personal recommendation, however, is that you try a dedicated SVG editor like Inkscape to generate an SVG of your paths, then import it into CC and then only make very minor adjustments within CC. CC is great and I’m grateful for its existence, but it has to do many things and its richness with respects to vector editing has yet to catch up to programs that only do vector editing.

GERRY! I can’t tell you how helpful this was to learn as i have been screwing with it for days. I spent a lot of time creating new geometry to find the center lines and aligning them etc.

Never noticed the align to geometry option in the alignment window, just the align to stock. That is Awesome!
thank you sir
Kind Regards

Carbide Create should snap to nodes on objects and midpoints — if you need some other sort of snapping which the grid won’t enable the work-around is to draw in geometry temporarily.

Will,