Old Dog....New Tricks

Hello! I am a professional master pattern maker…the way all 3D things became reality before CAD/CAM…40+ years of physically sculpting objects for commercial reproduction. In my semi-retirement, I am creating sculptural pieces in hardwoods…my main material of interest is laminated bamboo…eco friendly, and beautifully machinable. The Shapeoko 3XXL has the capacity to produce the pieces I require, as I can machine the layers of my sculpture in 3 inch increments and glue them up to create the finished piece. Through a community college, I have experience with Autocad, Revit and Fusion 360. I need advice in choosing a system to create/machine my projects, including a new computer, as my laptop is 10 years old with no graphics card, etc. My experience with Fusion 360 was successful but not ideal for my goals…organic shapes are tedious to define in F360. I would appreciate any input regarding: 1. CAD/CAM software 2. A specific PC computer…ie a manufacturer/model #…thank you in advance for any information to move me forward!

2 Likes

I think the best options for you would be either Shapr3D or Moment of Inspiration or Blender.

Shapr3D is an app for the iPad Pro which requires an Apple Pencil and apparently a monthly payment.

Moment of Inspiration is a desktop app available for Windows or Mac OS X which was designed to be used with a graphics tablet — it is supposed to be just magical to use on a machine with an active stylus such as a Samsung Galaxy Book 2 or HP Zbook X2 (for folks who prefer Wacom EMR) or a Microsoft Surface (if you can tolerate your stylus having a battery). For bonus points, also get a Connexion 3D Mouse.

Blender is an opensource app which is supposed to have gotten much better in the most recent iteration.

Another possibility might be Alibre Atom3D — if it has nice free-form drawing tools — still working through tutorials.