Opening Files In UGCS

I’ve been having trouble opening NC files created in Carbide Create in Universal Gcode Sender. I made pretty much the same file in Easel, Carbide Create, and Fusion 360. The files made in Easel and Fusion 360 open no problem, but the file from Carbide Create won’t open. This is my first time using Universal Gcode sender, so I thought it might just be that file, and tried files that I’ve previously made to only have the same problem. I had a YouTube subscriber ask to show how to export Gcode from Carbide Create to Universal Gcode Sender, and I’m guessing they are having similar problems. If anyone can help please let me know

What’s the file extension? Change it to .nc

It is .nc I don’t think Carbide Create let’s to export in any other format

I don’t use Carbide create, but I thought it exported .ngc or something. They’re all just text files. Can you share the file? (I can’t take a look… Away from computers for a week, but that will help the next guy)

Carbide KWS Logo.nc (643.3 KB)

Hi Kody,

FYI it opens just fine in UGS on my computer (Windows laptop)

even though your file seems to have Mac-style line endings.

On the PC you are running UGS on, can you open the file in a text editor and see its text content correctly?

3 Likes

I’m running windows 7 pro for and os and it opens nothing. I can open the text file and it looks fine to me, just like any carbide create file i’ve used before in candle, but UGS reads NO code that I’ve exported from carbide create

Mysterious indeed. To try and troubleshoot what’s going on, you could check if UGS spits out any specific error message on the command line when you try to load the file. From a command shell, you can use the “–console new” option, it will open a separate console window, which will happen to contain all traces that UGS makes behind the scenes:

C:\Users\Julien\Desktop\ugsplatform\bin>ugsplatform64.exe --console new