Optimizing MeshCam Settings

I did a little bit of poking around and didn’t see this posted but feel free to move it if I missed it…

I keep seeing MeshCam generate tool paths that cause it to run 50x longer than it needs to. It will make a little cut in one place then move all the way across the part then make a tiny cut in another place instead of just working in one area to prevent wasting huge amounts of time in travel.

I’ve been using MeshCam for a couple months now and I still don’t have an intuitive feel for how the different roughing and finishing options work or how to know when to use which ones. Is there anything better than the MeshCam manual that’s available online to explain how each of the options affect the tool paths?

I’m guessing my settings are the problem most times but I don’t know how to figure out if that is true or not. I can’t find any really good in depth tutorials.

Thanks for any links or suggestions!

There is a tool that could be modified to optimize this, but it doesn’t currently understand Z. It doesn’t know how to keep all the cuts in z-order, so it’s not so useful for this (gcodeoptimizer). I’m not irritated enough to fix it so it can. Not yet, anyway. That said, fusion360 seems to do a pretty good job when it generates paths, but it’s a lot harder to learn to use for this.

I’m waiting for Fusion 360 to stabilize a little more before I transition. MeshCam is relatively easy to use but I really need to figure out if the software is poor or if my understanding of how to use it is the problem.

Will or @Randy, any thoughts? BTW, how do you tag a person’s name in a post?

Thx

My apologies, I only use opensource when I have a choice.

To tag a name type the @ symbol and then type or select the desired username.