Organ tracker block

Hi everyone.
I am building a Senior 20 crank organ, I am having a problem with the tracker bar which should be a straightforward cnc router job

I am trying to cut a D shaped hole 6mm dia and 9mm long on the straight side, and 2mm deep. I also need other smaller D shaped down to 4mm and 4mm long.

I am having sizing problems, either the circular bit is too big or too small,and I cannot get a straight line on the flat side.
Can sombody help me with this, I am a beginner and struggling,
Advice on the cutting tool required would help as well.

Best thing to do is to cut using an undersize endmill as a pocket, leave a roughing clearance, measure the cut, then adjust the finishing pass to cut at the desired size.

Could you post the file you are having difficulty w/?

I have scrapped all my previous tries, i a trying to start again with a fresh mind!!

Are you talking about something like this?

I create an oversized copy of my tool and use it for a roughing pass. Maybe 0.005" bigger than the nominal tool.

1 Like

I’m guessing it should look something like what is shown in this video at the timestamp 0:18

So, Tod’s example seems like the basic idea, but more than one and all in a row and precise sizes.

Hi all,
That is exactly it. How to do it in carbide create is the question.
Being a raw beginner, I am struggling.

Any help appreciated.

I created a circle and a square/rectangle and boolean union them

I use the grid for my sizes. Set the grid to 1mm, and then View → Snap to Grid
You can also type in the radius of a circle or dimensions of a rectangle when creating it.

1 Like

Many thanks for that, bearing in mind I need accuracy, what tool would you use to cut it. I have a 1mm cutter, or is that too fragile?.

Just a thought is there anyone on this forum that lives in or near Leeds UK that wouild like to meet up and share experiences?