Paint Bleed, Cedar Sign

OK so I do have some ideas however I thought I would run things by the experts here :slight_smile: I am not a finishing expert :slight_smile:

So I was asked to make some signs for a Disc Golf Coarse . Cedar is what I am using. 2" tall block letters.
First attempt/test was not too bad but there was paint bleed. I carved out the letters, no sealer, and then used the black paint I had in the cabinet, brush on Tremclad. I figured it is oil base and it is quite thick therefore less bleed. I just painted in the letters with a small brush, thinking I would sand off any oopses. Which I did. However as you would guess as I sanded down removing the surface over paint. it also revealed paint bleed from the exposed end grain of the letters. I finished it with tung oil. it looked pretty good but still some paint bleed. OK from a distance though :slight_smile:

Yes I could use sealer and a mask, carve, seal again, then paint, then sand . Seems like a lot of fussing around and cost for a simple project.

Some of my thoughts were:
Most sanding sealers are not rated for out doors. or at least not the ones I have.
I want to finish with oil and I want it to soak in bringing out the grain. I assume any sanding sealer might effect that. And even if I sand the top layer off, it would still bleed like the paint in the end grain of the letters. so instead of black bleeding. I would have light colour bleeding where the oil can not penetrate. This might ( I have not tried ) be worst as sanding sear is generally thinner and designed to soak in deeper. Therefore deeper bleed showing.

In my experience sanding sealer reduces the amount of stain or oil that can be absorbed into the grain, so it is not as blotchy but you don’t get that dark deep grain look either. A bit of a trade off.

I could treat it with the finishing oil first but it takes so long to dry before I could sand it without gumming up the sand paper.