Painting vcarves

I’m hoping someone can give me the benefit of their experience. I’m trying to paint my vcarves. I do a carve, then spray lacquer or polyurethane into it, let it dry, then either spray or brush paint into it. After drying I take a few thousandths off the whole thing and no matter how deep I go I see paint runs that have run through the grain outside the carve.
Does anyone have a wood type, paint, sealer or process that they have successfully done this with.
I’ve had a lot of experience with resins, is this the only answer. Thank you for any consideration.

I usually do mine with a coat or 2 of shellac and have had good success with that. It really depends a lot on the type of wood and the grain direction at any given location. If you’re looking at end grain it will require a couple or more coats and if it’s a more porous wood like pine or red oak it will also take more.

2 Likes

Thank you. Wipe on? Or is there a spray shellac?

Yes you need to seal the wood before carving. Dewaxed Shellac works well but lacquer sanding sealer works well as well.

So seal the surface, carve, paint and then sand and/or surface.

2 Likes

I buy spray cans of shellac from Big Orange

1 Like

Like others have said, sealing first is a must–I use the spray shellac (Zinzer). It dries quickly and sands off easily and does not react to any paint or topcoat you might decide to use. But, if I’m carving something really porous, I add a layer of tape (either masking or some of that clear package sealing stuff) after the shellac has dried. I then do my carving. The tape does not always stay put–especially in the tight areas, but it does significantly reduce finishing time.

1 Like

Thank you all for the suggestions. The tape on top is interesting cause I thought the bleed was going horizontally below the surface. But you seem to think the bleed was going from top to bottom and if that’s true than the tape would work very well. I’ll try that along with a the sealer. Thanks again