Pocketing (z axis?) consistently off at least 60%?

I apologize in advance if my question is answered elsewhere, or if this is some extremely obvious, self-inflicted user error that I am overlooking. I’m a novice. I haven’t seen this same issue on any other thread, but I appreciate any advice or guidance this community can provide.

I have a Shapeoko XXL pro

I keep running into issues with my cut depth- It is at least 60% too deep on all pocket cuts.
When I create pockets (For a box,) they cut through the bottom of my piece.
I ran some test pockets in a 1.7" deep piece of poplar to see the results-

When I set the max depth to .25" the result is .39" (64% too deep)
Max depth is set to .5", the result is .79" (63% too deep)
Max Depth set to .75", the result is 1.2". (62% too deep)
Finally, if I set it to 1.25, it cuts through the 1.7" piece and into the waste-board approx 1.8" (69% too deep.)

To setup, I measure the bit depth on the bit setter. Then I manually reset 0 to the X, Y, and Z axis to the upper left corner I am working on.

I haven’t noticed any issues with the v cuts I have done, but that is probably due to it only cutting to the depth of the V…

Thanks in advance for your help!

1 Like

Did you configure for an HDZ when you have a Z-Plus Z-axis?

If that’s not it, post your .c2d file and let us know step-by-step how you are securing your stock and setting zero relative to it and managing all tool changes and a photo showing an attempt at cutting still in place on the machine.

1 Like

Thank you so much for your help!

I bought my Shapeoko used off of offerup… I am not sure which setup is on it. Doing research now to find out.
I didn’t configure either during setup, so whichever is default is how mine is set.
Great starting points to check. Thank you! I will let you know if this is the issue.