Possible EMI Interference - Shapeoko 4

Hi folks,

I’m new to my Shapeoko. I “made my bones” on a 3018 pro for a few years and have only used cncjs as that suits my setup the best.

I have a wifi router in the basement but it in the front partition, separated by wooden walls from the back where my small SBC machines are wired with their wifi disabled.

Recently, I added a j tech laser to the machine. If you are not familiar, it disconnects when you want to use the router.

I didn’t have a spare x86_64 machine to run Lightburn and brought down an older laptop to run Lightburn temporarily. It sat close to the machine on a chair.

When I switched to the router to do another job, I left it there. The probe macro for the bitzero skipped the step where the bit retracts in the Z direction and there went my 1.8mm. (I have several, yes I should have used the bitzero “rod” but oh well)

When the job ends, I have cncjs send an mqtt packet to turn off the tasmota outlet for the router. This also failed, first time. (Not the first time I murdered a bit in a probing attempt :slight_smile: )

I can’t help but think that the laptop was to blame.

My plan: use a hack to share my USB port over TCP to my odroid h2 near my work bench and use Lightburn from there when I need to.

I have gotten this to work with ser2net on the rpi and socat on the “client” and will post a cookbook if anyone cares and could make it this far in my post.

Has anyone experienced anything similar? I’ve dealt with ground loops before and my cell phone makes my PC speakers sound like a Sci Fi movie but otherwise I am unfamiliar with this.

Usually when this arises after a period of successful operation it’s either the carbon brushes in the router wearing down, or the humidity lowering as the seasons change.