Pricing jobs on a desktop machine

Hi, all, I’m hoping someone can help me out.
I’ve looked at what people charge for cnc milling jobs elsewhere, but most seem to deal with larger machines that can move much faster than the Nomad.

I recently made these boxes for my kids’ Magic:The Gathering cards.
And now some friends are asking for similar products as gifts. But I don’t have a clue what I’d charge for them, as I have no experience pricing things like this out.

Can anyone offer some suggestions/recommendations?

1 Like

I wrote up some notes on the matter of pricing at:

It’s tricky with the Nomad though. Those pictures are basically fresh off the machine (with a few minutes of sanding off my tabs). And I’m already 1.5 hrs into each box, just with Nomad carving time. 1/4” endmill pocketing those two big inside pockets is 20ish minutes alone. Doesn’t include the design, toolpathing, stock prep, and setup (e.g. drilling the locating pin holes for flipping the piece).
I’m sure I could set this up on my bigger machine and batch out several at a time. That would make the machining time a little easier to price. But on the Nomad, I just don’t know how to price the carving time.

Unless you are going into business I would not worry about labor. You could charge for material and you can enjoy making the boxes.

One of my neighbors is in his 70s and has been a farmer/rancher all his life. He looks at every thing from a perspective that everything is about profit and loss. That is fair for him because that is the way he makes his family’s living.

For me being retired my perspective is different. My living is secure and for me everything is not about profit and loss. I cannot waste money foolishly but giving away things I makes makes me happy.

If you are trying to make a livinging or a side hustle that changes your perspective. So unless you are going into business, relax and enjoy making for the pleasure of it. Let the bean counters count thier beans and you enjoy.