Project cut too deep into spoilboard, and I don't know why

Shapeoko rookie here.

This afternoon I milled some hold-down clamps out of plywood. I thought I was being real clever in my approach (:slight_smile: ) by setting Z-Zero on the spoilboard, which is something I’ve never done before. The thinking was to avoid cutting anything more than a shadow into the spoilboard, which I confirmed to be flat and level. I broke the job into two separate G-Code exports. One was for everything that didn’t cut all the way through the stock, which was just pocketing. The second was for all the through-cuts.

For the through-cuts, two tools were involved. The #102 cutter went first and the depth was perfect. I was then prompted to switch to the #201 cutter, which I did (I have a bitsetter). The resulting cuts were ~1.5mm too deep. I tightened the #201 cutter nice and tight, and the collet nut was still tight at the end of the job.

The only things I can think of that could have gone wrong are 1) The bit wasn’t tight enough and vibrated out of the collet just a bit, 2) Something went wrong with the bitsetter. I’m sure there are other things as well, but I’m not knowledgeable enough to have thought of them yet.

The machine is a Shapeoko 4XXL. Attached are the c2d and G-Code files.

Any thoughts or ideas will be much appreciated.

Thank you!
Holddown clamps.rev02.c2d (699.6 KB)
Clamps Rev 2 Cutout.nc (192.2 KB)

There’s nothing like that in the file:

Possible causes:

• electrical issue — check the wiring and connectors
  • mechanical issue — check the machine mechanically