Projects with Multiple Bits

Newbie here working on a Onefinity machine. I have some trays that I am making and it calls for 3 different bits. At the end of each toolpath the machine raises and pauses in place. If I jog the machine to bring the router to a better place for a tool change, the Onefinity basically locks up and won’t continue on with the next toolpath (I have to shut it down and reboot the controller to regain control of the device). I am currently running each of the three toolpaths as separate jobs which is very time consuming. Does anyone else have this issue and are there fixes for it?

Thanks

Carbide Create’s multiple tool support expects a BitSetter, or other mechanism which allows a tool change to be effected by G-code to make such tool changes.

On a machine which lacks the hardware to support this it will be necessary to write out one G-code file for each tool.

Thank you…sure wish it would honor the X and Y homing after I move the router for a bit change and then let me set a new Z home. The machine knows all of its homing and should be able to easily reset itself for the next toolpath.

I appreciate your input. Have a nice day.

In Carbide Create v7 you can do that. You set your X and Y zero and then the Z zero either at the top or bottom. Then make different tool paths for each tool. Then arrange them in the order you want to run them in. You always make the least intrusive cuts first and a contour cut out last.