Re-Introduction

Just wanted to post a quick “Hello” and re-introduce myself.

I bought a Nomad back in September 2018. I have no knowledge or experience with CNC’s and thought that the Nomad would be a good out-of-the-box machine to learn on, rather than buying and building a Shapeoko.

However, I was sadly mistaken. Due to the complete lack of documentation and tutorials for the Nomad, I gave up after about 2 months.

But one of my New Year’s resolutions was to blow the dust off of my Nomad and finally teach myself how to use it. So I just downloaded and installed the latest versions of Carbide Create and Carbide Motion.

My goal is to work with metals…copper, brass, aluminum, sterling silver, and stainless steel.

I’m planning to push the “ON” button on my Nomad tomorrow (hopefully it will fire up after a year of no use) and attempt to cut out a 1" x 1" square out of 360 brass.

Wish me luck!

2 Likes

Did you see/try those Nomad tutorials?
There are a few videos on YouTube too.
In terms of general CNC knowledge, Shapeoko resources apply.
There is a learning curve, but shoot questions here and you should be in a much better position soon to enjoy your machine!

1 Like

Hi Julien,

Yes, I did see and try those tutorials…but it’s pretty pathetic that those are the only ones they have.

The best tutorials that I have found were the Myers Woodshop ones showing how to use Carbide Create and Carbide Motion. But it baffles me why Carbide 3D doesn’t have a whole library of these videos showing how to use THEIR software and THEIR Nomad…everything from unboxing a new machine. to how to change a bit. to how to install and use the low profile vice. How hard would it be to get an intern to do a quick video showing how to cut a star out of wood, aluminum and 4 or 5 other materials? If they could show people how “easy” it is to use their machine, they could probably sell a lot more Nomads.