Router goes off material when starting job

So, i’m brand new to cnc. I have the shapeoko xxl with bitsetter and touch probe.

I tried making a simple letter ’ A" as my first project. I did it in aspire. I made the material size 12" x 11 3/4" and the letter height is 10".

I connect to the machine, initialize, “load tool” sets z axis and then since having issues with probe working or not knowing how i just go to front left corner of wood piece and set zero.

Once I start the job the router goes way off the piece of wood and I have no clue why so i end up just turning everything off.

Can someone look at my file and tell me any issues you see or just give me some advice on what might be the issue.Coaster.nc (100 Bytes)

Hi Matthew,

there was something wrong in the generation of the file, it’s almost empty, as if no toolpaths were selected/created.

%
(TOOL/MILL,0.1,0.05,0.000,0)
(FILENAME: )
()
G21
G90
G0X0.000Y0.000Z12.700
G0Z12.700
M5
M30
(END)

The only thing this does is going to the zero point (which you should already be at after zeroing) and raising the Z to 12.7mm
If it went “way off the piece” when you started, you may have a problem in the way you set zeroes too?
Can you post the design file (.c2d) you used to generate that g-code ?

1 Like

hmmm, it won’t let me upload it. says that file type is not authorized. it is a crv3d file

My bad, I did not read your initial post through, where you mentioned you use Aspire.
The usual way to upload a type of file that is not supported here is to compress it into a zip file (since zip format is accepted)

However, I don’t have Aspire so I wouldn’t be able to open it anyway.

Did you make sure you have your toolpath selected in the Save toolpaths menu?
Here’s a random example of mine (in VCarve, but the interface should look similar), make sure your toolpath is checked (bottom) and appears in the “toolpaths to be saved” part