Shapeoko 5 Pro Maintenance - Lubricating Lower Z Axis Bearings - How!?

Morning!

Does anyone have a more detailed reference guide for oiling the bearings on the S5P? All of the guides are very VERY general and don’t detail things like ;

How the hell you’re supposed to get to the bottom bearing lubrication hole on the Z Axis…

Do I take it apart? Do I not? What happens after I refit it? Do I need to tram it all again? Seems excessive…

The guidance for the S5P is shockingly bad. Carbide3D - please sort it! Should be done on launch.

2 Likes

There are a few posts where people have asked the same question regarding how to get oil in there, and Carbide state that we should be able to get oil in there without disassembly - however, i’m no gravity expert but if I remove the bottom screws and try to force oil in there it’s not going to work.

So what is the solution?

Carbide3D - Grace us with the knowledge that you seem to be ducking.

1 Like

Some folks have loosened the top linear bearing blocks for better access (leaving it on the rail and then sliding the mechanism lower for better access) — the oil seems to be sufficiently viscous that I was able to trap a bit in the tip of an applicator and then force it up against gravity the one time I needed to lubricate — the other thing which seems to help is that if one starts with the Z-axis at the bottom and overfills the top blocks they will apparently leave enough oil on the rails to contribute some lubrication to the lower blocks.

Maybe @Luke has a better suggestion, or can find the photo (or will advise against what it shows)

I have a tray I put under the axis and just remove the bottom screw, push some in with a plastic syringe, and quickly install the screw. It’s thick enough that most stays in if I’m quick.

4 Likes