Shapeoko 5 Pro Spoilboard surfacing time with McFly

I have a brand new Shapeoko 5 Pro (4x4) and I am very new to the world of CNC. I ran a bad job and put a pretty sizable cut into my spoil board. I figured now is a good time to surface the spoilboard for the first time. I purchased the McFly bit from Carbide3D and was planning on doing the job today but after seeing the estimated cut time of over 8 hours decided to double check with the forums.

My Carbide Create setup:

• Set the stock material to 48x49,
  • Drew a slightly bigger rectangle then the stock (49.5x49.75) and centered it.
  • Created a pocket tool path and chose the McFly bit with the default speeds and feeds (.5 stepover, 0.020 depth per pass, 12.0 plunge rate, 75 feed rate, 18000 RPM)
  • Set the depth of the cut for the pocket to .1015 (the depth of my mistake).

Am I doing something wrong or should I expect to have to endure a 323 minute cut job every time I need to surface the spoil board? Curious if anyone else has surfaced their spoil boards on a 4x4?

I am planning on upgrading to a 2.2Kw spindle soon, so if the McFly is really going to take this long, I might look at getting a bigger bit from Amana.

If you have never surfaced then it would be good. However after the initial surfacing you will cut the spoilboard/slats away quickly if you surface every time you get a cut on the slats. It is called spoilboard for a reason because it gets spoiled.

To avoid cutting up my spoilboard prematurely I use the bottom of material about 90% of the time. There are cases to use the top but the bottom saves my spoilboard. I replaced my SO3 XXL in October 2022 and it barely has a scratch on it. It is a pain to cut a new one and move over a hundred tee nuts so I just avoid cutting it up if at all possible.

1 Like