Shapeoko less stiff in Y direction?

Hi guys,

I’m new to the Shapeoko and would like to know if what I’m seeing is normal or if there is an issue on my machine. It seems like the machine is stiffer when force is applied to the endmill in the X direction than in the Y direction.

In my current project, I’m clearing out deep pockets with climb cut wide-shallow cuts, then finishing the pockets with conventional cut deep-narrow cuts. I’m trying to follow the outstanding A to Z guide that @Julian put together (Seriously, bravo; Its a work of art!) for the feeds and speeds on those tool paths. Note in the attached pictures that the endmill was pulled into the workpiece in the upper right and lower left corners of each pocket and only in the Y direction as evident by the gouges left behind.

Since the pocket radius is exactly half of the endmill diameter, the cutting forces spike momentarily when the endmill enters the corner. I wouldv’e thought that the Shapeoko was stiff enough for this. Designing around that constraint with a bigger radius is fine but if it is an issue with something on my machine, I would like to find that and fix it. All of my V-wheels seem tightened down sufficiently. Anyone else experience this?

Thanks for any insight folks!

Hi @BlindedSands,

• did you see if the overcut (circled in red) happens during the shallow pocketing passes, or just when you run the (full depth?) finishing pass on the walls ? where in the pocket are you plunging ?
  • can you provide your feeds and speeds (and ideally the design file for a quick look)? What wood is this ? (reminds my of beech, which is HARD)
  • what endmill are you using and how much does it stick out of the collet during the pass where this happens?