Shapeoko Pro 5 Losing Z Steps? Any solutions?

Hi everyone, I have been using my Shapeoko 5 Pro for a a few months now. So, I am relatively new to the machine and CNC in general, but I am having an issue with my Z axis.

Background: I was doing a 3d carve with some complex shapes (wave covered panel). After my roughing I used a parallel toolpath for finishing, and I noticed that as the toolpath progressed the z height of my cut had been creeping down lower into the stock. I then tried to isolate the conditions of the issue with some tests.
Material: oak

Test 1:
Stock: rectangle 2in x 7in
Bit: 1/8th Ballnose
Toolpath: Parallel
Profile: none. this was a simple flattening operation with no z engagement.
Cutting Feedrate: 150in/min
Stepover: 0.01in
Result: No Issues. Stock was flat with no noticeable z drop.

Test 2:
Profile: Roundover along the length of the piece.
Cutting Feedrate: 150in/min
Result: 0.23 in drop from start to end of tool path. In other words, my stock was 0.79in at the start of the toolpath, and 0.56 at the end of it.

Test 3:
Profile: Roundover along the length of the piece.
Cutting Feedrate: 70in/min
Result: Better. 0.12 in drop from start to end of tool path. In other words, my stock was 0.81in at the start of the toolpath, and 0.69 at the end of it.

From the tests, it seems like when there is some z motion along the parallel path, I start losing z height even at moderate loads (70in/min and 0.00175in Feed per tooth).

Am I just stressing the machine too much or is this some issue with the mechanical parts?

The first question to answer is have you actually tested your Z-zero before and after this happens?

Before is easy, but if the cut is getting deeper due to Z-zero changing, then you need to test the after Z-zero carefully to see if it is different.

What you need to decide is if the machine is changing or the bit is moving without a program running.

2 Likes