Shapeoko3 Newbie- Need first time help with 3D letters

Hi Guys,

I’m a proud owner of a new shapeoko3 and just getting started. Let me tell you a bit about my experience because I’m not a complete Noob to cnc, just to Shapeoko and Carbide Create basically.

I have 3D letters I created in Maya and can put into Fusion360 too. But I’m not looking for 3D carving as much as needing to just get a few 2.5D letters with a pocket cut, maybe at 2 heights and then a final cut around the edges.

My problem is how to make my files correctly speak to Carbide Create or import directly to Carbide Motion. I cant seem to find any good tuts on youtube so hoping someone here is willing to assist me. I can share SVG or stl files as well as Coreldraw CDR or SVG if necessary.

I have Skype too and willing to do some live chat walkthrough if possible. Give me your email and I’ll share more details and files.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance-Michael
SteamMaker Factory

We have a standing offer on support@carbide3d.com that we’ll work up step-by-step tutorials for folks who have difficulties with projects or files — just send it in.

For importing SVG, the community has the following notes: https://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Carbide_Create#Import_SVG

• no overlapping or intersecting geometry (if possible — overlapping geometry is often discarded)
  • no pixel images
  • some files will work more reliably when winding direction is correct (outermost path is counterclockwise, next is clockwise and alternate as needed)
  • can interfere with import — ungroup down to just paths, joining them all into a composite path will help with the above
  • some programs don’t provide a size, specifying 100% for dimensions — please edit them to specify dimensions (SVG is just XML) or open in Inkscape and resave

There are some additional tutorials linked to from there.