SO3 XXL: Homing switches AND Z-axis touch plate?

Hello,

Just ordered a SO3 XXL. I’m a crabby old engineer that’s owned several CNC routers and mills, but downsized to a smaller home and needed a smaller router to fit a basement workshop.

My primary question is: Can I use both homing switches and a Z-axis touch plate with the SO3? Are there enough GPIO pins and does the shipping software have support for it?

I’m a little nervous about starting over with a new motion control package after using Mach 3 and MultiCam-style controllers for years, but I’m going to give it a try.

Thanks!

Hi @audioguy - Yes, the board has discrete inputs for your limit switches as well as for a touch probe/plate.

I hear you about being nervous on “downsizing.” I’m actually heading in the opposite direction as I’ll likely be modding my XXL to use a Pokeys57CNC and Mach4 in the nearish future. You should be able to find much, if not all, of the capabilities for the new system using the various open-source utilities which are readily available.

I’d be curious to hear what you are nervous about losing, or is it more of a learning curve kind of thing?

1 Like

Hi John,
Thanks for the reply.

Yes and yes.
After working with heavy routers, I’m not quite sure what to expect. If I can get 20 IPM and 1/16" DOC in 6061 aluminum with a couple of thousandths of flex I’ll be happy enough. More flex and I’ll be progressively less happy. I’m not expecting 200 IPM @ 1/4" DOC and .001" worst-case deflection in that 6061 with the SO3. I gave that up for a more sustainable lifestyle in my dotage. :slight_smile:

And the 2nd yes - I worked as a motion control engineer with Forth-based industrial controllers for larger routers and mills, and used Mach 3 on a few of my own retrofit machines. I’m not sure what to expect from grbl - a couple of months ago I would have thought someone forgot a few letters and left the cage door open.