Software update

Hi, how often is the software updated? Noob here.
I just noticed that CC and CM have new versions. Do I have to manually download or does it automatically update?
Thank you
Rob.

2 Likes

You can update it if you want to. If the new version has new features that you want, or you are having trouble with your current version. Mostly, I update when I want to get the new features.

1 Like

Carbide3d has been on a quick pace with updates in the last year. You never have to update but if you do always keep the previous installer programs so if you want to go back you can. I have a good collection of past versions but you are usually better off with the most current version. As new features and accessories come out they sometimes require a minimal version for the new stuff to work.

I have Carbide 316-514 and Carbide Motion 414-535. So far I have never had to go back but I can if I want to.

2 Likes

Ok thanks guys appreciate the responses.

Rob

When Carbide Create or Motion is launched on a machine which has a network connection it will check to see if there is a new stable version. If there is, the user is notified that it is available.

Hi Will,
It didn’t prompt me to do the update.

Which version are you currently running? On what platform?

The version before this update 514 is it?
On windows 10

Current versions are:

536 for Carbide Motion: Carbide 3D — the previous was 535

517 for Carbide Create: Carbide 3D — the previous was 516

After reading this I opened CC and this is what it showed.

Carbide Create 514 “No vew versions available” So either the versions are wrong or mine is not updating that I need a new vesion. Screen snap taken at 10:45am CST 03/04/2021

Went to the carbide3d.com site and this is what it said: Build: 517 Released: 2-19-2021

I tried Carbide Motion but because I was not connected all I could see is version 535 with no update info.