Speeds and Feeds for V Carving Plywood

Hi all,
I’m working on a sign in 3/4’ birch plywood that’s going to involve some v carving text with either the 301 or 302 v bit. I’ve never done v carving before so i was just hoping to get a little advice on what folks here have had success with. The CC defaults for softwood are 18000 RPM .01 cut depth 45 ipm. I’m also a little unsure as to what to set the total depth of cut as. Does is all depend on the design you’re carving, or is there a general rule of thumb based on material thickness? Playing around with different depths doesn’t seem to alter the preview simulation much in CC. Thanks!

For V Carves (not Advanced V Carves), you usually don’t want to set the total depth of cut to anything other than either the stock thickness or the cutting depth of the cutter. CC will adjust the depth of the cutter to ‘fit between the lines’, so you don’t want to limit it artificially to less than the natural depth.

1 Like

in addtion to what @mhotchin said, here’s my rule of thumb for v-carving wood

• RPM in the 16k–20k range
  • Feedrate in the 30–60 ipm range (lower for hard wood, faster for soft wood)
  • Depth per pass in the 0.1–0.2’’ range
  • Plunge rate in the 10–20 ipm range
2 Likes

Thanks, I feel like a have a pretty good starting point now for my speeds and feeds. For birch plywood, would that be considered a hard or soft wood? One more question regarding total depth of cut: I was just double checking the specs of the 301 and 302 v bits and the flute length is .25, so does that mean I should keep my total doc to a quarter inch for text? I know you can likely go deeper then that when talking about advance v carve and pocketing.

Good quality plywood is usually made out of hardwoods, so yes, hardwood.

The #301 has a flute length of 0.3535":

as you note, total cutting depth is 0.25"

The #302 has a flute length of 0.5":

max cutting depth is 0.4330: