Spindle Speed revs up and down when dial is set to #3

I am new to the game here and was hopeful that someone could offer advice. When cutting, my router speed will wind up and down as it is working. You can actually hear the difference as it is running. This only happens when the router is set to the #3 position. I pause the run and manually change the speed to a different setting and the problem goes away. I don’t like this solution as this means I need to run the spindle at the incorrect speed for materials being cut. Any experienced advice?

Please try changing the carbon brushes — if that doesn’t work, let us know at support@carbide3d.com and we’ll do our best to work through this with you.

Thanks. I probably have only run a total of 10 hrs with the machine so far. Time to learn how to start taking things apart!

1 Like

When this happens do you notice your router speed dial shift positions or does it stay fixed in place on #3 setting. Possibly hitting a certain harmonic depending on your cutting parameters (feedrate, router rpm, …) and the material being cut making the speed dial move position due to vibrations/oscillations. I haven’t experienced this myself but easy enough to check.

There does appear to be some “play” in the dial and I have thought that vibration may be a factor. I find that this problem only occurs when I am running longer cut times on a project. The small quick projects don’t seem to be an issue. I have also switched from softwoods to plywoods to hardwood to see if that makes a difference but have not seen any changes. I am going to change out the brushes and while I have the unit open see if there is anything that can be addressed with tightening the dial.

The dial on the Carbide Compact Router is supposed to have detents which ought to prevent it from vibrating off a given setting.