STEM use of CNC Machines

Hi All, I work at a small, public library with a Carbide CNC machine. I’m new to CNC machines so I’m wondering what kinds of prints/cuts have others done or found which helps teach STEM skills to students? How does a certain print/cut teach them Math, Engineering, Science (Physics, etc.)? Thank you!

1 Like

Great tool for STEM. Plenty of STEM skills involved in designing & developing a strategy to machine given the tools & materials you have, and the capabilities of the machine. Just the design part, if the student starts with an idea and has to figure out how to manufacture it, what processes to use, and not just the machining parts but how to assemble the finished product, what kind of finishes to use, and how to line things up on the machine and choose tools that will result in the parts needed.

I worked with a group called “PACE” that donated software & services to universities installing and configuring our software (Siemens NX / Unigraphics) for students to use in their projects. I would help set up NC machines & make postprocessors for them, and create templates in NX for the students to use.

I think I would start with pictures of finished products that are relatively easy to make, in the time available, but without details, dimensions, etc… & guide them to discovering how to make the finished parts.

I hope you’ll post progress so we can follow along. And you can always count on the forum for help.

Good Luck

1 Like

Can you please share examples of what specifically taught students STEM skills?

One approach is to teach the geometry and math underlying designs — using a CAD tool which requires math/programming/geometry will facilitate this:

and

The usage of the machine is applied engineering/science/physics.

The BlockSCAD folks have published a bit in this space:

https://www.blockscad3d.com/

(and it’s a tool I use a lot)

That’s a bit broad… What are you trying to teach?