Suggestions for wiring control panel

Hi all,
Several people have created really slick control panels for their Shapeokos, where you can turn the power on to the various devices, ie router, controller, lights, vacuum, etc. @Tshulthise has an especially cool looking one, with an e-stop and speed control.

Any suggestions for how to make one of these? I’ve tried searching the web, but I think I must not know the right terms, as I am not finding much.

I’m mostly comfortable doing basic wiring, but I’m far from an expert, and would be grateful for any help! For example, how heavy duty do the switches need to be? Would these suffice?

Nilight Heavy Duty Rocker Toggle Switch 15A 250V 20A 125V SPST 2 Pin ON/OFF Switch Metal Bat Waterproof Boot Cap Cover

Is the standard approach just to wire up outlets that are individually controlled?

Any thoughts on how to find tutorials for this - or even just how to do it - would be very much appreciated!

1 Like

I use simple X10 outlet for my router. wireless remote. No wiring necessary. It’s in the ceiling above the machine. There are a LOT of cheap outlets controlled by a remote for your Christmas lights. I use two of those to control my air and the blower for my laser for past 3 years and they work great. I got 6 a few years ago on closeout for $0.01 each.

2 Likes

Under monitor computer surge protectors such as:

https://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-Protector-Monitor-Outlet/dp/B0040U5GLE

are inexpensive and readily available — need to dig one out at home and try it out again.

2 Likes

I did this basic power control panel a while back, thinking I would probably redo a fancy one later, but I never did because it has turned out to be perfect for my use.