Tabs - What do they do and is it okay to not use them?

Hello everyone!

Sorry if this is a very dumb question but I still don’t have a complete understanding of tabs as I am still learning. I recently got the Shapeoko XXL and hear all this fuss about setting up tabs and what not. My question is what is the purpose of these tabs? Is it really that bad if tabs aren’t used?

I have a project I was about to run and someone told me not to forget to add tabs but I don’t really see the big deal in running it without them and letting the machine do its thing. Again don’t come for me as I’m a newbie here but I really would appreciate any insight on this.

Thank you all!

Tabs are used when you are doing complete parts cutouts, like profile cuts. They are used to keep an attachment between the piece and the rest of the stock. Without tabs the piece would be cut free and possibly (probably) move causing, at the least a damaged part, or at worst a wooden projectile flying around your shop.

1 Like

Ah okay I understand, thanks for the insight. Would it be fine to just grab the piece that is cutout so it doesn’t interrupt anything?

with the machine running… that’s dangerous. it can spin out any moment

instead of taps, I tend to use double sided tape to keep the pieces just taped to the bottom… that’s at least safer :wink:

2 Likes

That’s a great idea, I will try that!

Nathan:

A good thing to remember is this:

Any tool that will cut wood will cut you. That is true of hand tools and even more so with equipment that spins cutters (ie. end mills in routers) at several thousand rpm.

Keep hands safely away from that cutter until the router stops. Better yet unplug the router when your hands are near that bit.

Bill

2 Likes