Tape + CA...do specific brands make a difference?

I’ve never used this method of hold down before but i want to give it a try. I’ve done the double sided tape method for many many years but the tape cost nearly $20 a roll for 2" wide.

So is the 3M Scotch Blue the most commonly used tape, or do others work just as well?

Any specifics on the CA glue ya’ll use? Great Planes Pro CA Thin is what ive also used for hobby stuff, but i’m thinking the thicker stuff would be better maybe faster setting so an accelator doesn’t need to be used.

If there’s a dedicated thread to this topic, just point me there. I did some searching but the results were sporadic replies for threads.

1 Like

Thinner CAs typically cure much faster than the thick and medium variants.

Bob Smith Industries is one of the industry leaders in cyanoacrylate glues, and I believe Great Planes uses them. The glue supplied in the Carbide 3D Super Hold kit actually is a Bob Smith glue as well! The glue supplied in this kit is a medium variant, which helps to flow into the pores of the tape and fill in any inconsistencies.

1 Like

I buy a Six pack package of the cheapest masking tape (note NOT painters tape) at Lowe’s and have had great success (never lost a part). It’s almost half the price of paint. As far as glue I use both thin and thick depending upon what I am gluing (non-flat wood versus flat metal/wood). But that’s just me, what do I know I’ve only been in this business for 45 years, and a 5+ year shapeoko customer

3 Likes