Time to make a decision on software

My Carbide Create Pro license expired, and although it has been relatively easy to maneuver around, I’d like to get into 3d art sometime soon. I was looking at VCarve Desktop because someone mentioned how much they like it.

This is just a hobby I make a little money on the side, so not a full time gig. I’m not looking for something that has a long ramp up learning curve to it. I was just starting to really understand Carbide Create Pro. But if I’m going to spend $350 on software, I might as well get the best I can for that money. I’m still a noob by most standards. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

What type of work do you do mostly? V-carve sign work? Mechanical parts and similar? The right software really depends on this.

Some sign type work, star cutting on flags, starting to get into inlay work. But I’d like to get into 3D and double sided stuff eventually. I like to push myself to do something different after every project. I just want to get decent software, with good support, that can handle expansion of my current hobbies.

I haven’t personally used VCarve Desktop or CC Pro but I have looked at and heard good things about both. That type of software seems like the best choice for you. I personally use Fusion 360 and love it. It has a bit of a learning curve but there is a ton of educational content on it in both written and video form. It is good for more advanced cutting strategies which helps a bunch when cutting metals. Most everything I do is in aluminum and is a mechanical part. It isn’t great for v-carve or inlay work when compared to either of those. Others will have to chime in on their experience with other options.

In addition to V-Carve you might also want to look at Carveco The Carveco Software Range : Creative Design & CNC Software

There is always Fusion 360. Free to hobbyists. That is always a plus.
It does have a bit of a learning curve but what software doesn’t.