Tool Marks / Ridges in Plywood Sign

Hello!I have been running into an issue while cutting pockets on a baltic birch sign. I’m using a Shapeoko Pro XXL cnc router with an Amana Spektra 46200-K endmill (1/8" Downcut). The problem is that I’m getting ridges / tool marks in the bottom of the pocket. The cut depth is 0.075" and after research, I tried adding a finishing pass that only cuts down another 0.025". The strange thing is, one one part of the sign the bottom is smooth as glass, but in another part it has the ridges.

• Is there a better endmill I can use for the finishing pass?
  • Is there an issue with the plywood itself (maybe some areas are softer than others)?
  • Are my speeds and feeds workable?

I’m new to CNC routing, and any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Amana-46200-K

1 Like

How does your depth per pass relate to the depth of the pocket?

I find it helps to ensure that they don’t divide evenly, so for instance w/ a depth per pass of 0.125" and a pocket depth of 0.5" which would result in 4 full depth passes, instead reducing the depth per pass to 0.12" results in 5 passes, the last of which is only 0.02" — essentially a finishing pass.

If I still don’t have a good bottom surface to the pockets, I’ve found working up a finishing pass which cuts to the same depth and uses a different stepover will usually even things out nicely.

2 Likes

Hi @WillAdams - thanks for the reply. I set the total cut depth to be 0.075" - Vcarve automatically set 2 pass depths to run at 0.0375" each.

When you say that “working up a finishishing pass which cuts to the same depth” - do you mean create another pocket using a different stepover? Or are you saying to add another pass on the current pocket with a smaller stepover?

I would suggest changing the depth per pass from 0.0375 to 0.037 — that will result in 3 passes, the last one being 0.01"