Touch Probe vs Bitsetter the why ofs

Hello, As will soon be evident I am new to CNC routing. Have had my XXL for 3 weeks and have cut a few projects. When I ordered my Shapeoko, knew that I needed to order all the accessories now. So I ordered the z-plus, touch probe and bit setter. I understand the touch probe locates the stock edge and the bit setter sets zero. When I use the touch probe I have always set all three axis. Where I am lost is when using the touch probe setting X,Y and Z why does the software send the cutter to the bit setter. I have not found a tutorial on these two items. It would be great if someone would create a tutorial when starting a project
What I need is a explanation on when to use. I save the toolpaths most of the time in one G-code being sure when a tool change is needed I will be prompted and the tool zeroed.
As I said I am new to this and can say without a doubt addicted.
Any suggestions education are welcomed. Feel like a school kid first day of school. I am sure there will be many more questions.
Thanks

The BitSetter is used as a tool offset probe. Basically, it ensures that your Z height will adjust as you use multiple tools with inherently different lengths.
Your Z limit switch “knows” where the top of your Z axis is. When you set zero with your probe, the machine “knows” where the bottom of your end mill is. When you change tools, that changes. The BitSetter adjusts for that.

7 Likes

@neilferreri Clear and concise, your teacher is showing :grin: :laughing: :rofl:

4 Likes

I’m also new to CNC, my Shapeoko XXL should arrive on Monday. I was thinking about purchasing a bit setter and/or touch probe. My question is why can’t you place the touch probe at a known height and use it to measure tool length?

That’s how I used to “BitSet”.

This post may answer your question more directly.

4 Likes