Trouble saving GCode

Hi Carbide Community!!

I am new to the Carbide world and very happy to be a part of it.

I am having trouble saving my projects from Carbide create. When I click “Save GCode” it saves the file as a Text Edit Document. I’m not sure if I changed a setting at some point, somehow but does anyone have any advice on how I can change this back to normal??

Thanks!
River

Which version of Carbide Create do you have?

Is it adding the .nc file extension?

It’s harmless (and kind of convenient) to open the .nc files in a text editor — the only concern is that they have a file extension which will allow opening them in Carbide Motion — does that work?

I am using Carbide Build 514.

When I save the file it is not adding the .nc file extension. It is just saving the file however I name it and as a text edit document.

How do you suggest I save a GCode from CC to the folder on my desktop which I use to open projects in CM?

I am not VERY technologically literate so please keep that in mind when responding haha.

I need to figure this out as soon as possible and all your help is appreciated.

Thank you!

Please update to a more recent version — 514 had a bug on Mac OS X where it failed to add the file extension:

https://carbide3d.com/carbidecreate/download/

1 Like

As I was reading your post I think you might have mixed up saving your project and saving gcode. They are two separate things. Your Carbide Create project is a separate operation to enable you to reopen your project later in Carbide Create. Saving gcode is saving tool paths that Carbide Motion can use to cut out your project.

The Carbide Create files are saved in this format: project.c2d
The gcode files are created in this format: toolpath.nc

If I misunderstood the problem sorry but Will Adams is right about the bug for Macs. The files for tool paths are still good you just have to edit it and add the .nc extension. All gcode files are text documents.

1 Like