Using 8" x 8" wood blanks - Need input

My wife has a small baby product business making wooden toys, and we have been outsourcing some machining work to a local hobbyist, with me doing the final sanding and finishing in my shop. One of the things I want to do with my Nomad (which should be arriving this week) is start to do some small production runs of these toys in-house.

I’m brand new to CNC, so have a question regarding the best way to order my wood stock. I’m thinking it would be wise to order blanks in 8" by 8" with mounting holes drilled, so it can be directly secured to the sacrificial board on the table. From there, the idea would be to use as much surface area for my parts so as to minimize waste.

Does this seem like a reasonable approach for production runs?

For one-off jobs and more custom work (and parts that are smaller), I’m thinking it makes sense to use a smaller stock so that waste is minimal.

Thoughts? Thanks in advance.

Darren

PS - I’m also assuming that if I use blanks that match the table size exactly, that it will be easy to zero the machine since I will essentially be zeroing it to the corner of the table. Is this correct?

Hi Darren,

First, regarding zeroing, if you have a way to fixture your material, then you can leave the machine “zeroed” after setting it once based on the fixture. Therefore it doesn’t matter what size your stock board is, as long as you put it in the same place every time. Because you can repeatedly use the same offset (until you change it, then you’re stuck with the new one) you can adjust your zero position in MeshCAM or other CAM package relative to your work-piece if you want to get fancy and leave the origin at the corner or center of the table, and then position your stock deriving from that position. It means that you’re not jogging around and finding the stock every time you stick material in, but it does require much more operator precision to do it that way!