VCarve (regular & Advanced) depth issue

Hi all,

I’m new to CNC/Shapeoko and this is my first post. :slight_smile:

I had an issue yesterday with some vcarve cuts, both regular and advanced. I first did a test on some scrap material and it came out beautifully (see first image below). The orange circled areas show the advanced vcarve cuts, while the green circle is a regular vcarve.

Since that turned out so well, I tried a “production” cut. This one seemed to have a problem. The pocketing of the advanced vcarve was done first and that went fine. When I changed the bit to do the vcarve, it seemed to plunge deeper than expected and created raised areas in the pockets, as well as make the regular vcarve cuts run closer together (see below, orange and green circles same as above).

I’m not sure what happened here. It seems like the vcarve bit was lower or something, but I don’t know how that would happen with a BitSetter. I made sure the bit was secure during the tool change, so I don’t think it moved in the collet. I’m always worried that during a tool change, I’m going to move the gantry and change the location of the spindle, but I’m not sure if that is a concern or not.

Here are a few additional details:

• I made one change to the project file for the test cut - I disabled a contour toolpath that cut an outside shape, since I was only concerned about testing the vcarve parts. For the production run, I just re-enabled that toolpath, saved the file, and reloaded it in Carbide Motion.
  • I used the same bits for both cuts - #102 and #301 for pocketing and vcarving, respectively.
  • The materials used are different in several ways. The test is pine and is 1" thick. The production piece is walnut and is a little over 3/4" thick. I kept the material thickness the same in the project, at .75", and set zero to the top of the material. I also left the project set to “hardwood” for both runs.