Vectric VCarve opinion

Recently purchased the Shapeoko xxl and have played with Create and manged one small and simple cut project. I am new to cnc routing but am a little familiar with Cubify Design for 3d printing. I am looking for something a little more advanced than Create and my head is spinning from all the topics and posts on this subject.

I am leaning towards Vectric VCarve. It is easy on my older eyes and seems fairly intuitive to me at least. In another thread of top CAM software, I did not see much mentioned on it.

My only pro/con is the affordable price for the Desktop version but limited to a 24x24 workspace. Must upgrade or purchase the Pro version for larger projects.

So is my newbie self missing something? Is this a decent option for creating projects?

It works well — folks who buy it seem pleased, and the pricing/upgrade model is reasonable — you can buy in at one level, then upgrade to the next for the difference in price.

I bought Vcarve Desktop for one project and it worked fine, but haven’t had occasion to use it since.

1 Like

I am very happy with it - it makes complicated jobs simple, and and simple jobs simpler. All credit to the guys developing CarbideCreate, but Vectric has been around for years and I find it very polished. Especially for image tracing, V-carving and sign making - it’s hard to beat.

The way that most people seem to go is to get desktop, which has the 24x24 size limitation, then if it works for them Vectric will let you pay the difference to upgrade

That being said, I went straight to Aspire, same interface, most of the same options, just a few more around modelling that the cheaper options don’t offer. Given my time again I’d make the same choice.

1 Like

Dwayne,