Vertical Text Alignment

I’m wanting to make some garden markers similar to ones here:

In order to do this, I have to make a separate text object for each letter and align it manually to the same center point. If we had vertical text, it could make this much easier.

2 Likes

Multi-line even text would provide for proper vertical spacing but you can select your text and use the existing align function to center on your workpiece or to the last letter/item you selected. Having the distribute function would also be nice where the items selected get spaced evenly between the outside objects or in the workpiece.

1 Like

I’m pretty new to CNC(and cad/cam), just had it for a few days now. carbide create is really the only tool I ‘get’ at this point. It’s been fantastic for just getting it up and running, I plan to expand my software toolbox as I need, and it sounds like this is a good place to start.

1 Like

Here is something you might try. Using Inkscape I think this would work. Use the Text tool, select the type of Text, then do one letter, enter for a new line, type, enter, type, enter, etc. You may want to align=middle for looks then SAVE. as a standard file - then Save As an SVG file. You should be able to OPEN the SVG file into Carbide Create and then proceed from there. This MAY give you what you want.

How about adding something low down on the sign that will still be above ground and allow for inserting smaller wood or card stock with the Planting Date and the expected Harvest Date as reminders to the gardener?

It’s definitely still possible in carbide create. It’s just a bit tedious, you have to use a new text object for each letter and align it manually. So there is an existing workaround but I figured other people might be trying to do the same thing, so a feature request made sense.

1 Like

It can be done. It isn’t easy, but it isn’t rocket science. (This file took about 5 minutes of casual work)
"Rotate" and Horizontal alignment are your friends here.