Very very fine engraving on to brass ?

Hi,
I’m new to CNC, i live in France and received my Nomad 3 this summer. I want to engrave very fine patterns and texts on to brass with 0.2mm to 0.4mm end mills. (0.0079 to 0.0157 inch)
I chose these end millshttps://www.otelo.fr/fraises-miniatures-2-dents-serie-normale-queue-cylindrique-coupe-au-centre-helice-30-carbure-micrograin/t-o-22055020/SF-ID-00040908/ref-11407.html
Could you advise me on the optimal settings with this kind of tool in Carbide Create?
thanks in advance
Francis

I’ve translated from French…

1 Like

I have not used a tool like that for engraving, but I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. Typically I use a single flute engraving/chamfer mill. 30 degree for most work. .01" is quite reliable, .005" can be rather fragile. Engraving/trace paths usually require a straight plunge, which can be difficult for the small tip diameter. The surface to be engraved should be as flat as possible. Final depth is dependent on your requirements and material flatness. I tend you cut very shallow passes, feeding as fast as I can. I use a very minimal feed per rev plunge. On very small engravings, you will find that you are often speed limited by your accelerations. I am not familiar with Nomad and its motion capabilities.

Some people use drag bits for this work, but I don’t find the result satisfactory. Occasionally I use a spring loaded engraving mill, but it is capable of powered rotation operation. Still, I find a regular mill to provide the most consistent results, assuming a flat surface.

1 Like

I summon the wise and mighty @Julien! He can provide some good starting points and his Shapeoko eBook that has all this. I’m pretty sure you’re outside his standard range though. Also @wmoy has done some tiny engraving and would be able to chime in.