What is causing this?

This is getting expensive… What am I doing wrong? Machine is clean, bits are new, running the latest CM

This is not cheap wood and I have been carving for a short bit (9 months) I have never had this issue. Please help

This looks like skipping steps. What type of wood and whats feeds+speeds?

1 Like

What kind of machine? What kind of Z Drive?

If you have a belt drive, check the pulleys on the motors. 2 set screws, both tight, one over the flat of the motor shaft. Also put a mark on it so you can easily see in the future if the pulley is loose.
IMG_1797

It’s mahogany speed at 100 % and 18000
feed

Shapeoko Pro XXL, and I dont have a way to tighten them that I know of

Ok so the set screws are tight. They weren’t loose

This is the second carve, and it happens late in the carve

Are you able to share the file so we might look at the parameters you have set?

Pinkerton Latest 2023.c2d (2.8 MB)

I don’t know if I sent that right

Yup, Opening it now. 20 characters

I’m sure I’m stupid with this

I’m in the Army and its been a bit so there’s a learning curve again

The above is easy. If I remember one of the hex wrenches that came with the machine should fit these set screws. Check these first. If you don’t have a hex wrench that fits you should go out and purchase a good metric set cause you will get some use out of the tool.

I would then check ALL the belts for tension and tighten as needed and Im sure these will need to be tightened. If you haven’t checked/tightened these belts in 9 months you are way over due for a check and tightening.

On another note on maintenance I check every fastener in 2 - 3 month intervals depending on how much I use the machine.

In my opinion you have wiring harness connector issues and a little bit of belt tension.