What time is it? "It's Tool Time"... Sign

How many people remember the television sitcom from the '90’s with Tim Allen, called, Home Improvement? Recently, my Brother-in-Law asked that I make him a Binford Tools sign. Binford was the fictional tool brand in the show. I’m extremely new to CNC and rather than paint insde the letters, I’d like to explore filling with colored resin. Any advice or insight would be appreciated before embarking down the path of resin filled signs.

5 Likes

If you are going to color the resin, I have found that sealing the inside surfaces of the pockets is important. If not sealed properly, the resin and the color can soak into the walls of the pocket.

In the past I have just used some clear resin painted onto the inside surfaces, and once cured poured the color.

I have used both the deep pour and tabletop resins, and they each have their strengths and weaknesses.

• Deep pour - much longer working time, but also a much longer curing time.
  • Deep pour has a much lower viscosity. Bubble rise to the surface much easier, but the resin is also more likely to soak into the wood if not sealed.

Finally, most resin product give mixing directions by volume. I have found that if you can find the information, mixing by weight is much more accurate.

Thanks! I appreciate the tip about sealing the media in advance of pouring. Prior to painting any signs, I seal them because I was aware (learned the hard way) that paint may blead on an unsealed surface but I didn’t even think about epoxy resin possibly bleeding too.