Which machine and what options?

I’m a woodworker, newly focused on reproduction clocks. I’d appreciate others’ advice on my #1 and #2 interests in CNC.

#1 Clock dials. These will be etched in brass sheet (0.04"), 7" diameter (so Nomad 3 will fit). 18th C. clocks were hand-engraved (don’t know the line width). I tried to attach an image of a dial in progress. (I’m new, might not have permissions). It’s made by etching with ferric chloride on a photo-resist. The smallest letters and numbers are the right look. Problem is the high failure rate of this method. Cuts will only go 0.02" deep. So if that sheet of brass is 0.02" off of “flat” the etchings will differ on opposite sides of the dial. First question: Is CNC the right tool for this purpose? Can a CNC carve a script number or letter that’s hard to distinguish from an etched one?

#2 Everything else in production woodworking. Nomad will hold a dial, and its tolerances are 0.003 (vs 0.005 with Shapeoko Pro). But the Pro has a bed that handles things that aren’t yet on my “need” list. Second question: Will the slightly lower tolerances of the “Pro” defeat my first purpose? Which machine would experienced users get at my stage? Third Question: If I do buy the “Pro” what options would give it the best features of the Nomad?

…Space is not a concern
…Budget is $2-6k
…For now, there will only be 1-6 clocks per year. Volume only increases if this is fun and they sell.

3 Likes

Did I miss that in your query on the support queue?

The things which the Nomad has which a Shapeoko might not are:

• BitSetter — this is standard on the Pro and HDM, but is an option on the SO4
  • BitZero — this is an option on the Pro and other Shapeokos — it’s great if you need to set origin relative to a corner or a surface
  • spindle w/ integrated on/off and speed control — EDIT: 80mm spindle included on an HDM ENDEDIT — to get this on a Pro you would need the VFD Spindle Kit: VFD Spindle Kit - Carbide 3D