Which Shapeoko?

Hello all,
I’m new here, recently found Carbide 3D in my search for a cnc router. I’m relatively certain i’m going to purchase one in the near future, and would love some input from those of you already using them as to which machine to buy.
I’m new to cnc routers, but do have a good bit of time on a cnc plasma table so have a handle on the basics of 2D cnc (though there’s a ton more i need to learn). I plan to start out working on wood projects, but will probably sooner than later get into plastics and aluminum.

With that (somewhat long) preamble, i’m basically deciding between the Shapeoko 4 and Pro in XL. Here are my main questions -

• After buying the bitsetter and dustboot, the 4 is only about $400 more than the Pro. I know both are capable machines, but will I be kicking myself later for not pinching pennies a little longer and getting the Pro?
  • On the size, basically the same question - XL seems a good fit for my current ambitions and budget, but will i regret not going XXL?

Thanks in advance for your input/advice. Looking forward to spending more time here.

Josh

1 Like

As always, it really depends on what you will be doing.
The Pro has linear rails which will give you
a) the possibility to achieve higher material removal rates (=productivity / reduce cutting times).
b) higher rigidity (than vwheels) which mostly matters when cutting metal

Size: if you hesitate between XL and XXL, you need to consider the possibility to use the tiling method, which allows one to cut “infinitely” long projects (feeding material from the front or back of the machine, milling what the work area allows, then shifting the material, rinse and repeat), so the XL is pretty capable. The XXL will allow to avoid tiling, which saves time if you cut a lot of large/long pieces.

Also, since you are new, shameless plug for the (free) Shapeoko ebook.

Looking forward to hearing from you on the forum soon once you get your machine!

3 Likes