Yet another Shapeoko vs XCarve question... from a guitar maker

Hey gents / gals -
I should first introduce myself. I’m Mike from the Okanagan BC, Canada where I live w/ my wife and two daughters. I’m a 42-year-old woodworker with a specific interest in guitar building. My hope is to compliment traditional build methods with a solid CNC that won’t break the bank.

My primary uses (as I can see from this point) will be to radius fretboards, cut fret slots, inlay headstock logos and cut / cavity electric guitar bodies. Also, I want to use the CNC to cut perfect templates out of acrylic / Lexan.

I’ve been longing for an XCarve for a few years now and admittedly was seduced by their slick marketing. I like the ‘package’ approach and the idea of essentially getting a plug-and-play machine (barring assembly time :wink: ). What seems to be the general consensus is that the Shapeoko is just a far more robust system and that the upgrades I’d need to do to the XC to get me in the same league as the Shapeoko render the decision to be a ‘no brainer’.

At this point, I’m trying to gather as much info as possible and would love to hear from fellow guitar makers or users of both machines to help me dial in this decision. I’ve watched everything I can find on YouTube comparing the two and also read the document: http://carbide3d.com/vs/shapeoko-vs-xcarve/

The pros for the Shapeoko seem to be that it’s more robust with better rails, 9mm belts as a standard feature, and the ease of use of the software (albeit limited).

Cons tend to be that the community may not be as robust as the XCarve’s but I have no idea… (this may be biased). Also, I’ve heard that the spindle / router mount on the Shapeoko could stand an upgrade (but I believe this is more in reference to cutting aluminum).

I’m considering the XXL unit ordered from Canada (RobotShop) and would like to get some feedback from this community:

• Why the Shapeoko?