Z Axis reversing - not the first run after assembly

Bottom Line UP Front: Z-Axis is randomly going opposite direction during jogging. Jugetek Motor (different from X/Y motors)

Assembled and tested Pro XXL over the past few days. Using caution because I am a zero hour newbie. I did some dry runs and then ran with the sharpie and a simple text file (similar to Hello World). Then I went with the MC Etcher and was successful on a test and small aluminum plate.

Today, first initialization and I got the Homing Fail error. Checked as much as I could and read what I could find. Notable here: Z Axis was noisy.

Now, ran some jobs on pine with the spindle going. No problems (other than my learning curve). Performance was flawless. Attempted to jog and stepper is making clunk sound and randomly going opposite direction. When commanded up, sometimes up, sometimes down
and vice versa. I don’t even know where to start beyond searching here. Since it has been working with fine tolerances and this is not the initial start-up
I am lost.

BTW - Super stoked that this is here, assembled, making chips, and it has far exceeded my expectations in design and accuracy. I took a few build notes that I’ll put up later.

Blue skies,

1 Like

Check all connections on the Z motor from the motor to the board. Sounds like a wiring issue.

2 Likes

Define “noisy” - as in crunchy sort of physical noise, or doesn’t move smoothly, or the pitch of what you hear changes?

If you can’t home, there’s almost nothing going on crosstalk/spindle wise, that’s your first big indicator. It’s a wiring issue with either the switches or the stepper, most likely the stepper, but check the switch just to be sure it’s tripped before htting the mechanical limit, etc. Check theindividual pins on each connector are mating solidly.