Z axis too high

Hi all, I am brand new to the cnc world. As such I am having some trouble with my shapeoko 3. I am trying to carve a shallow pocket in some pine. I have measured the material at .740" . I used that number for material thickness. My issue is when I go into CarbideMotion the machine seems to do almost everything right, but about 1\8" above the surface of the board. Any idea what i might be doing wrong?

Usually this is a problem in how one homes: http://docs.carbide3d.com/tutorials/tutorial-homing/ — if that doesn’t help, post your files and a step-by-step description of how you clamp the stock in the machine and set zero relative to the stock.

Thanks for the advice Will. I home the machine to back right. The pull off is set to 5mm. I place my material, a 16" square pine board. This is clamped in place with 2 bar clamps at the front, snug but not real tight. I also have 2 screws at the back of the board. I then jig the machine to the front right of the board. I zero x,y axis. Then zero z-axis to tip of material using sheet of paper for minimal clearance.

Not sure how to post the files. I’ll see if i can figure it out.

this is the upload button,you will see it when you hit reply

1 Like

Here is the sign I am trying to make. It is for SIL and her husband for around their pool
Palm tree sign.c2d (1.6 MB)

Thanks for the help, it is really appreciated.

Looking at the file, you set X and Y zero to the lower left corner, and Z zero at the top of the material. Did you zero Z to the top of the material (ie. move the bit to contact with the top, then zero Z in carbide motion?)

Yep, zeroed z-axis right before running the program. Usef a piece of paper to set zero at about .002 above the surface of the board.

Didn’t change bits after setting Z zero did you?