Zeroing at center vs. Zeroing to lower left

Hey Everyone,
Totally new noob here. I’ve been using my XL for a very short time. The few projects I’ve done I have always zeroed at the lower left corner. I’m wondering, does it matter where you zero at on the work surface? Meaning, would I get the same results if I zeroed at the center or the work surface?

I use the center a lot. Using the center is useful so vcarving is centered in case you have a variance in material measurement. It does not matter where your origin is as long as you zero at the origin. I find using a vee bit is useful even if you are not using it on the project. You can zero x and y and use change tool and zero z with the tool you are going to use like an end mill.

3 Likes

Thanks Guy,
So picture the back of the cribbage board in the photo (the game surface board on left). It’s “pocketed” out to fit on top of the bottom portion. The issue I’m facing is when I turn the board over after the face of it is done to cut out the pocketed portion, it still has all the corners to the wood in place and I’ve been zeroing at the lower left again. I do the pocket then cut the whole thing out to get the rounded top and bottom of the board. No matter what I do I can not get it lined up perfectly like what is in the photo. It’s always off centered now. I was thinking if I do the face of the board and do the cutout (rounded top and bottom of the board) before I turn it over, then I could zero at center and do the pocket cut. I feel like that would be an easy way to do it.
Does any of that make any kind of sense…lol?

1 Like

as long as your work surface is flat… the Z side will be the same.

theres sometimes good reasons you want to zero at the center… for example if you want to make a design in something that is already a circle, or where you don’t know the exact dimensions accurately of something square.
(but with a ruler and pencil you can usually find the center of things very easily)

1 Like