Fine Detail work

Hi all, I’m new to the cnc world and I’m having a little trouble with fine detail work. I tried to use advance v carve to do an eagle with feathers, but it is just breaking material out around the feathers because the spacing is so small. Please help what bit is everyone using to do fine detail work. I’m using a 5 pro.

What material are you cutting?

Using what tooling?

Could you post the file and a photo showing the results?

I would not normally send a person to my work but I have only just posted this file. Is this the sort of result you were looking for? This is a 3D STL file that extends for 18.29mm through the stock from top zero to base of carve. It shows fine detail and I used a 0.25mm ball end cutter.

The toolpath was a circular path from the inside to the outside of the workpiece. Often people use a raster file pattern which proceeds left and right until the whole workpiece has been traversed. I prefer the circular toolpath because it does not leave behind the sometime seen ‘tramlines’ where a tool follows in the same furrows while removing material. The circular toolpath takes smaller bites and removes all of the material under the toolhead in a single pass and does not have to return to remove it in layers.

EDIT: to add cutter image. The cutter is next to the roughed eagle model.

Depending on material usually fine lines/detail works best with a 15/20 degree vee bit. Make sure you know the angle of the tool you are using because putting the wrong tool in when specifying a certain angle vee bit will cause issues.